There’s nothing more American than a good ole burger. Even though beef is usually used to make the patty, there are plenty of creative plant-based ingredients that can be used to make the patties. Some of those ingredients include black beans, quinoa, chickpeas, mushrooms, and jackfruit.
Since veganism has grown in the last few years, food manufactures have started selling more veggie patties as an alternative to beef patties. It can be easy to assume that “veggie” refers to dairy and meat free, but that’s not always the case. There are actually quite a few veggie patties that contain animal products and are not vegan. Some of the potential animal products that can be added to veggie burgers are eggs white, cheese, milk, and whey or casein protein.
Listed below are a few veggie burgers that are not vegan friendly.
Boca All American Flame Grilled Veggie Burgers
Contains cheddar cheese and milk
Morning Star Farms – Original Chik Patties
Contains skim milk and egg whites
Morning Star Farms – Spicy Black Bean Burger
Contains egg whites and milk
Quinoa Cowboy – Veggie Burger from Trader Joes
Contains eggs whites